Download citation
Download citation
link to html
It is shown that there are 41 types of multivectors representing physical quantities in non-relativistic physics in arbitrary dimensions within the formalism of Clifford algebra. The classification is based on the action of three symmetry operations on a general multivector: spatial inversion, 1, time-reversal, 1′, and a third that is introduced here, namely wedge reversion, 1. It is shown that the traits of `axiality' and `chirality' are not good bases for extending the classification of multivectors into arbitrary dimensions, and that introducing 1 would allow for such a classification. Since physical properties are typically expressed as tensors, and tensors can be expressed as multivectors, this classification also indirectly classifies tensors. Examples of these multivector types from non-relativistic physics are presented.

Follow Acta Cryst. A
Sign up for e-alerts
Follow Acta Cryst. on Twitter
Follow us on facebook
Sign up for RSS feeds